October 05, 2005

Kano - Home Sweet Home

679 / 27.06.05

Size: 51.35 MB

01 Home Sweet Home
02 Ghetto Kid
03 Ps & Qs
04 Reload It
05 Typical Me
06 Mic Check
07 Sometimes
08 9 To 5
09 Brown Eyes
10 Remember Me
11 I Dont Know Why
12 How We Livin'
13 Nobody Dont Dance No More
14 Signs in Life
15 Boys Love Girls

Album Description
Although 19-year old Kane Robinson is the latest product of the vibrant UK Garage scene commonly dubbed "grime", his deceptively named debut full-length album, Home Sweet Home travels far beyond the East London boroughs most grime MCs make their ends. Boasting collaborative work with The Streets’ Mike Skinner, M.I.A associate Diplo, grime faces Terrah Danjah and D Double E, and even producer du jour Paul Epworth – the Bloc Party knob-twiddler, who contributes Black Sabbath-sampling rock banger "I Don’t Know Why" – this is an album that reflects Kano’s charismatic, multi-faced style: or, as he neatly puts it on frothing junglist number "Reload It", "I make love music/And I make thug music".

Skipping styles like hopscotch, we see Kano tackle assured, chugging rap-rock ("Typical Me"); Latin-tinged, Hennesy-sipping party vibes ("Remember Me"); reflective garden-gate philosophy ("How We Livin’"); and thuggish, slice-of-London-life drama (‘Ghetto Kid’) with equal charm and proficiency. His debut single, "Boys Love Girls" – a bouncy, comical encapsulation of playground sexual politics, included here as a bonus track – still sounds like perhaps his finest moment. But on Home Sweet Home, Kano has grown in many directions, and somewhat miraculously, every one suits him



Post a Comment

<< Home