October 10, 2005

LL Cool J - 10

Def Jam / 15.10.02

Size: 85.03 MB

1. Intro
2. Born To Love You
3. Luv U Better
4. Paradise
5. Fa Ha
6. Niggy Nuts
7. Amazin'
8. Clockin' G's
9. Lollipop
10. After School
11. Throw Ya L's Up
12. U Should
13. 10 Million Stars
14. Mirror Mirror
15. Big Mama (Unconditional Love)

LL Cool J may have progressed from "future of the funk" to hip-hop icon, but he's still dropping enjoyable sets of sensual pop hip-hop. The veteran artist's appropriately titled 10th release is by no means groundbreaking, but it is nevertheless a welcome arrival for faithful fans. By now, fans don't expect cutting-edge music from LL. His production team, which includes the Neptunes, DJ S&S, and Amen Ra, layers catchy melodies with laid-back drum patterns and familiar samples. "Paradise," featuring LL's warm, women-friendly lyrics, a guest appearance by brainy R&B beauty du jour Amerie, and the thoroughly recognizable sample of "Rising to the Top," best exemplifies the artist's patented style. Interview segments with upstart hip-hopper Free are interspersed through the disc, offering an up-close-and-personal look at the legend and his legacy.



Post a Comment

<< Home