October 04, 2005

The Notorious B.I.G. - Ready to Die

Bad Boy / 13.09.94

Size: 93.42 MB

01. Intro
02. Things Done Changed
03. Gimme The Loot
04. Machine Gun Funk
05. Warning
06. Ready To Die
07. One More Chance
08. #!*@ Me
09. The What
10. Juicy
11. Everyday Stuggle
12. Me & My Bitch
13. Big Poppa
14. Respect
15. Friend Of Mine
16. Unbelievable
17. Suicidal Thoughts

Album Description
During the Reagan era of "all-for-me" economics, MCs like Big Daddy Kane and Kool G Rap painted pictures of silky rap gangsterism, inspired by movies like The Mack and Superfly. Out of the post-Reagan rubble came Notorious B.I.G.'s debut, the "Hustler" reality-trip Ready to Die (also the LP debut for beat-thief producer, Sean "Puffy" Combs). Biggie still rhymes about the gold, the Moet, and the ladies, but also reveals the casualties on the road from struggler to hustler to player. "Juicy" sets up Biggie's rags-to-riches story, but then the curtain gets pulled back, with unapologetic, hardcore tracks like "Gimme the Loot" and "Machine Gun Funk." It's a funky album (just try not throwing your hands in the air when you hear "Big Poppa"), and it's a powerful album--possibly even the Mayflower of 1990s East Coast "Hustler" rap.



Post a Comment

<< Home