December 18, 2005

Kokane - Funk Upon A Rhyme

Relativity/April 12, 1994

Size: 94.3 mb

1. Kokane - Ridin' On The Funk (4:03)
2. Kokane - From The Funk To The Back (5:04)
3. Kokane - Mo' Water (4:37)
4. Kokane - Slow Burnin' 22.5 Degrees Fahr (4:26)
5. Kokane - I Need Representation (4:45)
6. Kokane - My Day Is Coming (4:40)
7. Kokane - All Bark No Bite (5:22)
8. Kokane - Bakin' Soda Free (4:19)
9. Kokane - Aftermath (5:15)
10. Kokane - No Pain, No Gain (4:47)
11. Kokane - Funkinmuffin (5:27)
12. Kokane - Shots Out (2:26)
13. Kokane - Shit, Goddamm (4:37)
14. Kokane - Don't Bite The Phunk (8:44)

>>(Part 1 (
>>(Part 2 (

mp3, 192 kbps
Запаковано\Archived by: WinRar 3.51
Пароль\Password: NukeR

Though Kokane had been involved with the West Coast rap scene since the dawn of gangsta rap, he was never able to secure any substantial success for himself until 2000 when he played a major role in the success of Snoop Dogg's Tha Last Meal. His eccentric vocal approach is half fluid rapping and half weird P-funk-influenced singing. This balance made Kokane a perfect choice to lay down the vocal hooks for Snoop's album, as he appeared on eight of the album's 19 tracks.

The son of Motown staff composer Jerry Long ("Ball of Confusion," "Just My Imagination," "Still Waters Run Deep"), Kokane's life has always included music, though it is the old school funk of the '70s that most influences his style. He began his career as a vocalist in the mid-'80s as rap was first appearing in his native Los Angeles before eventually signing to Eazy-E's Ruthless Records label in 1991. In addition to co-writing "Appetite for Destruction" for NWA's Niggaz4life, Kokane also contributed to other West Coast gangsta rap albums such as Above the Law's Black Mafia Life. His first solo single, "Nickel Slick Nigga," appeared on the Deep Cover soundtrack as well as his debut album for Ruthless, Who Am I. His second album for Ruthless, Funk Upon a Rhyme, appeared in 1994 but didn't sell many copies, dooming Kokane to a frustrating sabbatical period where he made the occasional cameo. He reappeared in late 1999 with a solo album on Eureka Records, They Call Me Mr. Kane, yet this album never escaped the underground. Ironically, it was on the L.A. posse track found on Dr. Dre's 2001 album, "Some L.A. Niggaz," that Kokane scored big; this encounter with Dre's camp led to his relationship with Snoop, who signed him to Dogghouse Records, bringing a renewed sense of promise to Kokane's long-running career.

by Jason Birchmeier

По русски:
Хотя Кокэйн был вовлечён в развитие гангста рэпа с самого его образования, он не мог обеспечить собственную популярность пока в 2000-ом году не принял участие в записи альбома Снуп Дога "Tha Last Meal". Он обладает довольно эксцентричным вакалом разбавленного читкой, а так же поёт в стиле P-funk. Этот баланс отлично вписал Кокейна в альбом Снупа, и он записался на 8-ми треках из 19-ти.

Будучи сыном композитора Джерри Лонга, в жизни Кокейна всегда присутствовала музыка, хотя наибольшее влияние на его творчество оказал олд скульный фанк 70-тых. Он начинал карьеру как вокалист в середине 80-тых, и в 1991 году, в Лос Анджелесе, подписал контракт с лейблом Eazy-E "Ruthless Records". Кроме того он был со-сочинителем песни "Appetite for Destruction" для альбома "Niggaz4life" группы N.W.A., Кокейн так же участвовал в других West Coast gangsta rap альбомах,
таких как "Above the Law's" для группы Black Mafia Life. Его первый сингл "Nickel Slick Nigga" оказался на сборнике "the Deep Cover soundtrack" так же как и ещё одна песня с его дебютного альбома - "Who Am I". Его второй альбом для Ruthless под название "Funk Upon a Rhyme" вышел в 1994 году, но не был популярен, что привело к тому, что Кокейн на год ушёл искать вдохновение. Он появился снова в конце 1999-го года с сольным альбомом "They Call Me Mr. Kane" записанным на "Eureka Records"
который так и не вышел из андеграунда. В это же время его пригласил Dr. Dre записаться в песне "Some L.A. Niggaz" для своего альбома "2001", там же Кокейн познакомился со Снупом который предложил ему подписать контракт с "Dogghouse Records", это привело к тому, что теперь Кокейну уготована длинная музыкальная карьера.

Please support our site - click on banner at the top of the page. Thank You.


Post a Comment

<< Home